The Leaf Reader by Emily Arsenault book review

32302187

Synopsis

Maybe, occasionally, some of the pictures I saw in teacups were not for the tea drinkers. Maybe some of them were for me.

Marnie Wells knows that she creeps people out. It’s not really her fault; her brother is always in trouble, and her grandmother, who’s been their guardian since Mom took off is…eccentric. So no one even bats an eye when Marnie finds an old book about reading tea leaves and starts telling fortunes. The ceremony and symbols are weirdly soothing, but she knows—and hopes everyone else does too—that none of it’s real. Then basketball star Matt Cotrell asks for a reading. He’s been getting emails from someone claiming to be his best friend, Andrea Quinley, who disappeared and is presumed dead. And while they’d always denied they were romantically involved, a cloud of suspicion now hangs over Matt. But Marnie sees a kindred spirit: someone who, like her, is damaged by association. Suddenly the readings seem real. And, despite the fact that they’re telling Marnie things about Matt that make him seem increasingly dangerous, she can’t shake her initial attraction to him. In fact, it’s getting stronger. And that could turn out to be deadly.

Review

OH MY GOSH!!!! I could not put this book down.. Like at all. I have lost a lot of sleep due to this book. This is a truly, truly, wonderful read. First off, let’s talk about that gorgeous cover. This is what drew me into this book. I loved the dark, grim colors and the shattered tea cup. The more you read the book, the more this cover fits as it foreshadows the feel of the story. This is a fast paced read. It is full of dark captive moments where your pulse will be pounding. Also on  a small note I want to point out how my book came with a tiny insert of a book that explained how you did tea leaf readings and a gave a good lengthy list of common sightings in the tea leafs and what they mean. This little extra made me love the book all the more. I found it to be the perfect accompaniment to the book. Now for the good stuff….. I really loved the characters in this book. All of them brought something to the table and I never saw the main bad guy coming. I was so sure i knew who it was and I got a total shock in the end. Marnie was such a great character to read. Her background story is a little heartbreaking but at the same time I felt it was necessary as to making her into who she is as a person. I also liked Matt but in some ways he is such a typical guy with the whole not being good with his feelings towards Marnie. The rest of the supporting cast was great. They all held their own and no one got lost in the background and I felt each one was essential to the story. The plot was terrific and brilliant. I loved how insightful in some parts it was. The book really has some deeper stuff going on. Especially with the dream sequences that Marnie has. This author is definitely one to watch for as I think she will become a chart topper. This book while sent to me by Soho Teen for review, all thoughts opinions and beliefs are my own. 5 stars from me.

Leave a Reply

