The Innkeeper of Ivy Hill (Tales from Ivy Hill #1) by Julie Klassen book review

28561667

Synopsis

First Series from Bestselling Author Julie Klassen!

On a rise overlooking the Wiltshire countryside stands the village of Ivy Hill. Its coaching inn, The Bell, is its lifeblood–along with the coach lines that stop there daily, bringing news, mail, travelers, and much-needed trade.

Jane Bell lives on the edge of the inn property. She had been a genteel lady until she married the charming innkeeper who promised she would never have to work in his family’s inn. But when he dies under mysterious circumstances, Jane finds herself The Bell’s owner, and worse, she has three months to pay a large loan or lose the place.

Feeling reluctant and ill-equipped, Jane is tempted to abandon her husband’s legacy and return to her former life of ease. However, she soon realizes there is more at stake than her comfort. But who can she trust to help her? Her resentful mother-in-law? Her husband’s brother, who wanted the inn for himself? Or the handsome newcomer with secret plans of his own . . . ?

With pressure mounting from the bank, Jane struggles to win over naysayers and turn the place around. Can Jane bring new life to the inn, and to her heart as well?

 

Review

This is my first novel by Julie Klassen and i am in love with this author. I have never read anything by Julie before so the first thing i did was to look her up. Turns out she is an avid Jane Austen fan, so now i know this author is my book soulmate! When i first started reading this novel I noticed that included in the first pages was a map of the town in which this story takes place. I love when authors included this as it paints a more vivid picture and you see what the author sees in their mind. Before i start my review over the book as a whole, can we take a moment to just breathe in and look at how gorgeous that cover is? I mean i was immediately pulled in to this book from that alone! So on to my thoughts. I think that Julie has set us up nicely for the series she is starting. I have fallen in love with these characters. They are beautifully written and each one stands on its own./ Each character brings something to the table and has their own unique voice that you can hear and see in your head. This book draws us in to a quaint little town that is full of surprises! I think this book does a wonderful job as portraying the social classes in its time period. There were also beautiful messages along the way. It inspires growth, forgiveness, compassion, and many other beautiful tales. The writing in this book is so strong and unique, that i dare say I have yet to read anything like it! I have become a true fan of Julie’s and I can not wait to read whats next. Thank you Bethany House [publishers for letting me read this in exchange for my open and honest review. 5 stars from me!

 

Buy Me!

 

Leave a Reply

