The Wonder by Emma Donoghue book review

28449257

The Synopsis

Tourists flock to the cabin of eleven-year-old Anna O’Donnell, who believes herself to be living off manna from heaven, and a journalist is sent to cover the sensation. Lib Wright, a veteran of Florence Nightingale’s Crimean campaign, is hired to keep watch over the girl. Written with all the propulsive tension that made Room a huge bestseller, THE WONDER works beautifully on many levels–a tale of two strangers who transform each other’s lives, a powerful psychological thriller, and a story of love pitted against evil.

The Review

OMG! I’m so glad I finally got my hands on this book! I’ve been dying to read it. And so glad I did. Emma Donoghue is one of my favorite authors. She is an amazing and talented writer.  This book is probably now my favorite by her. This book centers around a small girl and her charge whom has been sent to document her. This small girl does not eat and hasn’t for months. She merely just takes spoonfuls of water a day.  This mysterious read brought me the worst book hangover I have ever had. It was seriously hard to pick up a new book after reading this one. While the book itself has many elements of religion, it is neither shown in a positive nor negative way. It is merely just there as to be as background. This book brings with it a rich, shocking history, and brings with it a gorgeous prose. This is definitely a book you want to go into blind, so as that you may see the story unfold for yourself. 5 stars from me. I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

buy me

Leave a Reply

