The Help by Kathryn Stockett book review

4667024

The Plot

images-3

Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone.

images-2

Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken.

images

Minny, Aibileen’s best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own.

images-1

Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed.

The Review

This is a strong, beautiful, heart breaking story that will grip you at your very core. This book while being 400 something pages was no hard read. I found myself flying through this book, and gripping each and every page. Told in alternating character’s stories I was fully immersed. This book had me laughing, crying, screaming, every emotion, you name it, I felt it. There are so many heartbreaking moments, that while in the end is triumph the heartache will leave you breathless. The pain I felt for Mae Mobley and Aibileen broke me to pieces. i wanted to reach in and hug that little girl. Aibileen is such a beautiful strong woman in this book for taking care of and loving that little girl like she did.

17185142

I also saw a bit of myself in Skeeter with her fierce independence. Skeeter was a brilliant character.I felt that as a book to movie adaptation that the characters were spot on. You see the tall dorky, independent Emma Stone as Skeeter. Which if you got to read this book you could almost sear that the author had her in mind when describing her. I also loved Minny. Minny made me laugh so hard in moments with her sassy, smart mouth. I love how she gets even at a certain someone with some chocolate pie. I laughed so hard I almost peed myself. Although while being a smart mouthed stubborn as a mule maid, she has a heart of gold!The writing style and use of grammar was perfect for this time period. The author delivered it beautifully and soon enough I heard the characters voices in my head as i read along. You are sure to fall in love with some and despise others as they become more and more real to you. This read will forever hold a special place in my heart as it is unique. This book is a masterpiece!  5 stars from me!!!

Buy Me

Leave a Reply

